Leapfrog
Leapfrog
#5 Emma's story: From French lit to Arabian EVs
3
0:00
-29:48

#5 Emma's story: From French lit to Arabian EVs

How Emma Meng went from studying French tragedy at Cambridge to bringing Chinese EVs into the Middle East.
3

Welcome to Episode 5 of Leapfrog, a podcast about global entrepreneurs outside the American-centric tech bubble. Special thanks to Emma and Danny’s expert editing help!


Emma Meng always seems to be excelling as an outsider.

Raised in south China in the 90s, she became the first Chinese to be admitted by Cambridge to study French. After working in the fashion industry in New York, she returned to China and wrote a book about Elon Musk at the dawn of Tesla’s rise to become a household name. After riding her home country’s spectacular boom of battery-powered cars, Emma is now introducing Chinese EVs to the United Arab Emirates.

Aside from discussing China’s EV revolution and the UAE’s pursuit of energy diversification, I asked Emma what allowed her to flourish as an outsider in such wide-ranging realms. She harked back to something her sixth form college teacher said, that being Chinese wasn’t her weakness but an advantage.

“[My teacher] said she had the most fun reading my essay because my angle was always so different. So when I'm reading Shakespeare, when I'm reading Baudelaire, I'm reading from a modern Chinese woman's angle, which is different from the rest of the crowd in England.

I asked her, ‘but how about my grammar mistakes? I could never speak or write as fluently as native speakers.’ And she said, you know, Kate Moss is only 5 ft 7, and she's one of the most famous supermodels. So my teacher just kept telling me what I thought was my weakness can actually be my greatest strength.”

Timeline:

1:56 Why the UAE wants to learn from Chinese EVs

6:43 The UAE’s cultural openness was a surprise

8:42 How Emma built trust in her Middle Eastern clients

11:17 Going from French literature to the world of battery-powered cars

14:20 Why Elon Musk has many female fans, including Emma

16:58 Many Chinese are opposed to AI taking over their jobs

19:25 How Emma manages to thrive as an outsider

22:20 Marketing in the auto industry is still very “masculine”

24:20 But in China, women play an increasingly key role in car purchase decisions

25:57 Why the biotech industry needs cooperation between China, the UAE and the US

27:25 Recommendations

Mentions:

Discussion about this podcast

Leapfrog
Leapfrog
A podcast about entrepreneurs who are outside the American-centric bubble and are reshaping a slice of the global tech landscape